~ The Christian Employer Who Asked on Their Online Job Form If I’m a Drinker, Smoker, if I’m Saved – and Other Things

My quest for finding employment continues!

My job hunting has not been going very well, though I have been on a few job interviews, some for graphic design related jobs, some not.

I’ve been applying for part time, minimum wage jobs (sales clerk type jobs) in addition to looking for full time graphics positions (and there aren’t very many of those where I live, and I cannot relocate). My thinking is that if I land a part time, minimum wage job, I can job hunt for full time jobs in my spare time.

Over the internet, I applied for a full time graphics position at a Christian-based University about two months ago.

The online job application for this Christian University was such that I was not permitted to skip over any of the questions on the form.

I tried to leave some of the questions empty or blank, but when I would click on the “go on to next page” link to proceed filling out the job application and complete it, the University’s web page would produce a dialog box with red exclamation points informing me that all the fields and questions on the page must be filled in to proceed.

I’m not hostile towards faith or Christianity. I don’t really mind what people believe, religion-wise.

But I found it more than a little strange that this University asked me the following (and I was not allowed to leave these blank or unanswered):

  • Am I saved (did I accept Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior)?
  • (If yes), How and when was I saved, and what does that mean to me?
  • Do I attend church? If so, where, and what is the name of my preacher?
  • Do I smoke?
  • Do I drink?
  • Do I exercise regularly?

I’d like to emphasize again that I am not hostile towards Christianity or the Christian faith. I have family members who are devout Christians, and it’s fine by me that they are Christians. I was a Christian myself for many years, though these days, I don’t know how to describe my beliefs.

I still hold to traditional values.

I do jog several times a week, watch my caloric intake, and I have always been a non-smoking teetotaler. I’ve been pretty “square” since childhood. I’ve always been a goody-goody.

My nerdy, goody- two- shoes, squeaky clean lifestyle apparently would meet muster with this University.

I went ahead and filled out the University’s job application, even the portions I felt were too nosy and none of their business (but I really had no choice but to fill them out to submit the form).

I can’t be too, too picky about which graphics jobs I apply for here, because I only see a new graphic design job offered maybe once every other month, if that.

It’s been about two months since I filled out that University’s application and am still very weirded out by it.

I could’ve sworn that some of the questions they asked on their job application would be considered illegal – they are a for-profit group, not a charity.

Even though I mesh pretty well with their values, I really don’t think it’s any of an employer’s business if I smoke, drink, believe in Jesus, or exercise.

I also fail to see what those qualities have to do with the job at hand.

Even if I were an obese, heavy smoking, couch- potato- nature-worshipping Wiccan, that bears no relevance on if I have the skill set and artistic talent to perform tasks as a graphic designer.

I had a graphic design job interview with a local church about five months ago. This church I interviewed with were a huge contrast to this university.

This Christian church had ZERO questions in their job application about my religious beliefs, or if I smoke, drink, or exercise, or if I attend church.

During the job interview with the church staff, they didn’t ask about any of that; they were solely interested in my graphic design experience and skill set.

Apparently, some Christians do understand that one should stick to job-related inquiries only and not go off into tangents asking about a candidate’s personal life.

It’s been 2 or 3 months since I applied at the University that wanted to know if I exercise, smoke, and believe in Jesus, but I have not heard a word from them. I don’t recall if they even sent me one of those automated e-mails letting me know they received my application.

The church people also one-upped the University here: they sent me a very politely worded rejection e-mail a couple weeks after my interview, letting me know they were going with another candidate.